A Castle more than a 1000 years old... younger than ever!

 
SB kidiklic parc .JPG

HISTORY  Between Gien and Briare the castle of Saint-Brisson, heritage listed Historical Monument, has been watching the royal river for a thousand years . Its appearance has changed over the centuries: fortified tower of wooden palisades in the eleventh century, King Louis VI of France besieges and ruins the building in 1135. In 1180 the construction of the current building began. In the sixteenth century, Saint Brisson became the property of the Séguier family who abandoned the defensive side to transform it into a dwelling house.

From the rebirth to the twilight of the 20th century, the Marquis Séguier de Saint Brisson continued to arrange the fortress for the comfort of their generations. The castle was willed to the municipality in 1987 by their last descendant: Anne de Ranst de Berchem. It was at this time that a series of renovation works began at the initiative of the "Friends of the Castle".

Taken over in 2015 by the company Tous Au Château, the castle of Saint Brisson knows a second breath & numerous restorations financed by the product of the visits. It is part of a logic of valorization of the heritage and a real strategy of revitalization of the territory by the establishment of attractive and daring activities.

Un château de plus 1000 ans ... plus jeune que jamais!  

 

HISTOIRE  Entre Gien et Briare le château de Saint-Brisson, patrimoine classé Monument Historique, veille depuis mille ans sur le fleuve royal. Son aspect a bien changé au fil des siècles : tour fortifiée de palissades de bois au XIème siècle, le Roi Louis VI de France assiège et ruine l’édifice en 1135. En  1180 débute la construction du bâtiment actuel. Au XVI ème siècle, Saint Brisson devient propriété de la famille Séguier qui abandonne le côté défensif pour le transformer en demeure d’habitation.

De la renaissance au crépuscule du XXème siècle, les marquis Séguier de Saint Brisson ne cessent d’aménager la forteresse au confort de leurs générations. Le château est légué à la commune en 1987 par leur dernière descendante : Anne de Ranst de Berchem. C’est à cette époque que commence une série de travaux de rénovation à l’initiative des Amis du Château.

Repris en 2015 par la société Tous Au Château, le château de Saint Brisson connaît un second souffle & de nombreuses restaurations financées par le produit des visites.  Il s’insère dans une logique de valorisation du patrimoine et dans une véritable stratégie de dynamisation du territoire par la mise en place d’activités attractives et audacieuses.

Nous
contacter

+ 33 (0)2 38 36 71 29

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • TripAdvisor - Black Circle

PARIS

Orléans

Château de

Saint Brisson sur Loire

COMMENT VENIR ?

Gien